I have left my residence and am living elsewhere but I need to get my clothing and other items. Can the police help me?
The Police Department will send an officer to keep the peace and prevent
you retrieve your belongings.
Someone has abandoned a car or parked illegally in my parking lot or on my property. Can the police tow it away for me?
police can only tow away vehicles abandoned on public property. Call a
in your area and the vehicle will be towed away at no
cost to you. The wrecker service
will notify the Police Department once
they have the vehicle to determine ownership.
How can I find out if someone is in jail, when someone in jail can be visited and any other information about persons in jail?
Call the Duval County jail information number, (904) 630-5747.
I do not have any transportation and have to get somewhere. Can a police officer give me a ride?
Police officers cannot provide rides.
I need to get a message to someone that does not have a telephone.
Can the Atlantic Beach Police Department go to the person's home and deliver the
No, we do not relay personal message. We can only deliver emergency, life or death,
messages. We can perform welfare checks if there was concern about someone's
How can I evict someone from my property?
Eviction is a legal
process that often times requires a court order. Call the Civil process
office at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office at (904) 630-2141 for more information.
What can I do about stray dogs and cats and barking dogs?
Animal Control is the city agency responsible for calls involving dogs and cats. Their
number is (904) 247-5866.
Can I report drunk or erratic drivers to 911 on my car telephone?
calls to 911 on a cellular telephone are free. Do not try to pursue the
drunk driver or
place yourself in any danger. When you call you will be
asked for the description of the
car, where it is, and the direction it
Does Atlantic Beach have a curfew?
A curfew applies to persons
under 18 years of age. The curfew is 10:00 p.m. Sunday
nights and midnight on Friday and Saturday nights. A person under 18 is
exempt if he or she is accompanied by a parent, guardian, custodian, or other adult person
having custody or control of such minor. Running an emergency errand or legitimate
employment are exclusions.
How can I find out about Florida's concealed weapon permit?
Complete information is available on the Florida Department of Agriculture website. They
require digital fingerprints. Our agency does not provide digital fingerprinting but
the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office does.
Who is required to wear a bicycle helmet?
Florida law requires that a
bicycle rider or passenger under 16 years of age must wear a
that meets the nationally recognized standards for bicycle helmets. It
unlawful to rent a bicycle to a person under 16 years of age
unless the person has an
approved helmet or one is provided with the
bicycle. Violations of the law relating to
bicycle helmets subject the
violator to issuance of a traffic citation.
Can the police unlock my car if my keys are locked inside?